• The Christian Methodist Episcopal (CME) Church was founded in December 16, 1870 by 41 ex-slaves in Jackson, Tennessee. The CME Church celebrated its 144th anniversary on December 16, 2014.


  • The CME Church is a historical African-American Christian denomination. The membership base of the CME Church is becoming increasingly multi-cultural and multi-national which truly reflects upon the Great Commission to preach the gospel to all nations and all people.


  • The CME Church is one of three African-American Methodist denominations in the United States – African Methodist Episcopal (AME) Church, African Methodist Episcopal Zion (AMEZ) Church and the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church. The CME Church participated in the Great Gathering of the three African Methodist Episcopal denominations in March 2010.


  • The CME Church has more than 1.2 million members across the United States, and has missions and sister churches in Haiti, Jamaica and fourteen African nations.


  • There are four CME related colleges, Lane College (Jackson, TN), Miles College (Birmingham, AL), Paine College (Augusta, GA) and Texas College (Tyler, TX). There is additionally a CME sponsored seminary, Phillips School of Theology, which is an affiliate member of the Interdenominational Theological Center (Atlanta, GA).